Is this site a scam?

A (partial) list of fraudulent sites. Please post url's of fraud sites in here and not in other forums.

Moderators: georg, suziecue, JaxHot

Is this site a scam?

Postby jjp » Wed Aug 11, 2010 1:01 pm

I know it could be, the seller claims to be in NY, but posted the item in IL on craigslist.
But I'm new to these escrow websites/services, so i wouldn't be able to tell as easy as you guys:
http://vsd-transport.us.tt/
The url seems fishy, as much as asking for money transfers directly.

ps: right clicking gives a warning box (right-click is disabled).
jjp
NewBorn

Re: Is this site a scam?

Postby lightfair » Wed Aug 11, 2010 1:55 pm

jjp wrote:I know it could be, the seller claims to be in NY, but posted the item in IL on craigslist.
But I'm new to these escrow websites/services, so i wouldn't be able to tell as easy as you guys:
http://vsd-transport.us.tt/
The url seems fishy, as much as asking for money transfers directly.

It is; and I will add it shortly to our database and send a report.

In the meantime you might want to have a look here:

http://escrow-fraud.com/index.php?page= ... layout=139

It's a very well known template.

ps: right clicking gives a warning box (right-click is disabled).

Yes, that's because they don't want you to know where the actual site is. Not good enough to prevent us from looking a bit deeper, though...
vsd-transport.us.tt is only a sort of "frame" into which the content is loaded from elsewhere; in this case from

http://vds-transport.eu/vsd/

Isn't that nice: when shortening the URL we get another (different) fake escrow site:

http://vds-transport.eu/

What I would like you to do is to post the details of the deal, most importantly the name and email address the scammer is using. If you feel like "playing" abit with him you may want to wait until the fake site is killed and then ask why you cannot access it: maybe then he will provide you with the next "incarnation".